Ottawa Hills High School announces inaugural Athletic Hall of Fame

The Ottawa Hills Athletic Hall of Fame Committee has announced the names of the inaugural class of the Ottawa Hills Athletic Hall of Fame. The OHHS Athletic Hall of Fame has been established to recognize those athletes, coaches, administrators, and contributors whose attitude, example, outstanding athletic achievement, and dedication to sport exemplify the finest tradition and highest credit upon themselves, their school, and their community.

Ottawa Hills High School is pleased to announce the inaugural class of the Athletic Hall of Fame: 21 athletes and 4 coaches whose accomplishments showcase the legacy and rich tradition of Ottawa Hills athletic programs.

The inaugural class will honor the following 25 inductees:

  • Marti Beckering – Athlete
  • Harry Berrios – Athlete
  • Camilla Carter – Coach
  • Dr. Josette Carter-McCullough – Athlete
  • Latonja Curry-Buggs – Athlete
  • Michael Davenport – Athlete
  • Don Eaddy – Athlete
  • James Eaddy – Coach
  • Rob Ellis – Athlete
  • David Harris – Athlete
  • Robert Hendrickson – Coach
  • Bridget Howard – Athlete
  • Jimmy Jackson – Athlete
  • Bernard Jefferson – Athlete
  • Ernest Johnson – Athlete
  • Justin Keenan – Athlete
  • Robert Lurtsema – Athlete
  • Dr. Arnetta Peterson-Thompson – Athlete
  • Tanya Powell-May – Athlete
  • Otis Smith – Athlete
  • Filipa Smith-Jones – Athlete
  • Mickey Stanley – Athlete
  • Sidney Swayman-Thoms – Athlete
  • Cindy Tett-Hoskins – Athlete
  • Paul Wiegerink – Coach

Ottawa Hills Athletic Hall of Fame Committee Members:

  • Kurt Johnson
  • Mel Atkins
  • Brodie Larson
  • Donna Hathaway
  • Larry Donston
  • Janelle Carter
  • Johnny Walker
  • Marcus Harris

Join us at the inaugural Ottawa Hills Athletic Hall of Fame induction event on Friday, February 14, 2020, at Ottawa Hills High School during the girls and boys basketball games.

On February 14, the Ottawa Hills boys and girls basketball teams will take on Forest Hills Northern with girls playing at 5:30 pm and boys at 7:00 pm. There will be a reception for the Hall of Fame inductees from 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm in the auxiliary gymnasium, and we will be honoring all the inductees during halftime of the boys basketball game.

WHAT: Inaugural Athletic Hall of Fame Celebration

WHEN: February 14, 2020, from 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm

WHERE: Ottawa Hills High School Gymnasium (2055 Rosewood Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49506)

COST: Free