Grand Rapids Board of Education Announces New Leadership

The Grand Rapids Board of Education held its Annual Organizational Meeting on Monday, January 6, 2020, to establish executive officers and the 2020 meeting calendar. The District is pleased to announce the 2020 executive officers: Kristian Grant, President (second term); Jen Schottke, Vice President (second term); Katherine Downes Lewis, Secretary; and Kimberley Williams, Treasurer.

The 2020 Board of Education membership is as follows:

  • Kristian Grant, President
  • Jen Schottke, Vice President
  • Katherine Downes Lewis, Secretary
  • Kimberley Williams, Treasurer
  • Tony Baker, Ph.D., Trustee
  • Kymberlie Davis, Trustee
  • José Flores, Ed.D., Trustee
  • Rev. John Matias, Trustee
  • Raynard Ross, Trustee

The 2020 regular meeting schedule is as follows:

  • Monday, January 6, 2020 (Annual Organizational Meeting), 6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, January 21, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, February 3, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, February 17, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, March 2, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, March 16, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Canceled - Monday, April 6, 2020 (Spring Break)
  • Monday, April 20, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, May 4, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, May 18, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, June 1, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, June 15, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Canceled - Monday, July 6, 2020 (Summer Break)
  • Monday, July 20, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, August 3, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, August 17, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, September 8, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, September 21, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, October 5, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, October 19, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, November 2, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, November 16, 2020, 6:30 p.m.
  • Monday, December 7, 2020, 6:30 p.m. 
  • Monday, December 21, 2020, 6:30 p.m.

The board will schedule special board meetings as needed. The committee meeting schedule will be posted to the website once this is established.